Somewhere in Cambodia

memories, thoughts, and images from Kâmpŭchea

Somewhere in Cambodia

Five years ago, the three Jos (Josette, Joe, and myself), took a trip to Cambodia together to visit the ruins of Angkor Thom but, of course, what we found was much, much more. I wrote about the trip in several long emails during the weeks that followed, but I’d like to revisit the trip, partly through the original emails, but also through new eyes.

In my original narrative, I began,

“I’ll just tell of my experiences as they come to me, instead of beating my head against the images and emotions that have relentlessly interupted my attention since I’ve been back. I hope just enough of the experience succeeds in transcending this pixilated chronicle so that I may share some of what I felt, being in Cambodia.”

The images and emotions have faded, of course, aside from occasional flashes, but perhaps that will allow new wisdom to surfaces form the depths of viññāṇa.

6 responses to “Somewhere in Cambodia

  1. umterp09 September 23, 2010 at 3:21 am

    I was in Siem Reap around late February, loved every minute in Cambodia.
    Pol Pot was such a dick.

    • kraftymiles September 23, 2010 at 3:46 am

      Understatement of the year.
      Toul Sleng was a nightmarish place to vist even now and the thought of what went on there was horrifying. The thing is, the same is happening now in many places around the world and “we” often just dont seem to care.

      • Joseph September 23, 2010 at 3:48 am

        Ya, my friends and I decided not to go to any of the killing fields, but I read a few books about people (children) who lived through it. Horrifying. We did visit Toul Sleng though… It definitely made me appreciate their ability to hold such great smiles on their faces, now!

  2. umterp09 September 23, 2010 at 3:40 am

    like Joseph, I also didn’t visit any of the killing fields, but while I was traveling through Thailand and Laos earlier, my friend was reading “First They Killed My Father”. It was such a depressing book, written from such a unique and eye-opening perspective. If you’ve got the stomach/heart for it, I’d definitely check it out of the library… it’s worth a read.

Leave a comment